Skip to content


This Week in SuperMotocross: Supercross Round 15

April 24, 2024

450SX Class Recap: Nashville

Jett Lawrence

Jett Lawrence stole sole red plate status back after his sixth win of his rookie 450SX Class season. He is now tied for 31st on the all-time 450SX Class wins list with Justin Barcia. He has won 46 of his first 95 AMA starts (48%) tying him with Kevin Windham for 12th all-time. He’s won 18 of 45 between both Supercross classes (40%).

Eli Tomac

Eli Tomac nailed his 101st 450SX Class podium and sixth of the season with a runner-up ride in Nashville. He ties Ryan Dungey for third on the all-time 450SX Class podiums list.

Cooper Webb

Cooper Webb’s third place ride moves him five points off the red plate with three rounds remaining. It was his eighth podium of the season and 62nd of his 450SX Class career.

Jason Anderson

Notes: Jason Anderson (4th) 89th top five of his 450SX Class career. 131st top-10 ties him with Ken Roczen for ninth all-time. Justin Barcia (5th) 72nd career top five finish, ranked 15th all-time. Only second top five finish of the season. Benny Bloss (8th) Best finish for BETA to date, and second top-10 finish for Bloss on the season. It was his seventh 450SX Class top-10 finish and 35th in his AMA career. Vince Friese (10th) First top-10 finish of the season, 11th of his 450SX Class career in 119 starts (9%). Josh Hill (20th) Made 100th 450SX Class start and first of the season.

450SX Class: Philadelphia Historical Facts

History Lesson: Supercross embarks on the “City of Brotherly Love” for the second time in the sport’s 50-year history, with the other time being a Saturday-Sunday doubleheader in 1980 at John F. Kennedy Stadium. The weekend consisted of two rounds on August 9-10th and was the season’s penultimate weekend. Yamaha’s Mike Bell won Saturday night and finished third on Sunday, clinching the 450SX Class Championship. Bell’s teammate Broc Glover won the Sunday edition.

Broken Record: Supercross will go 43 years (1981-2023) between visiting Philadelphia, which is by far the record in 450SX Class racing. Foxborough went 25 years between hosting rounds (1991-2015) for the second most, a full 18 seasons less than Philly. Denver and East Rutherford endured 22-year absences as the only other two cities with 20+ year gaps.

Motocross in PA: Pennsylvania has an incredibly rich MX/SX history. High Point (46 MX rounds), Steel City (25 MX rounds), Pocono Intl. (1 MX round), and Pennsylvania MX (1 MX round) are four National tracks which hosted Pro Motocross rounds through the decades. Three Rivers Stadium is the only other Pennsylvania venue to host Supercross rounds (1978 and 1983). The now demolished J.F.K. Stadium, along with the doubleheader in 1980, hosted a 500MX National in 1973 one year before the first ever 450SX Class race in Daytona Intl. Speedway. The AMA held multiple stadium races resembling modern day Supercross rounds during the pre-Supercross Motocross seasons.

250 Pennsylvania History: Pennsylvania has never hosted a 250SX Class race. All the 450SX Class races held in Pennsylvania pre-date the 250SX Class. Steel City and High Point Motocross are the only Pennsylvania SMX venues to host 250 Class racing. Steel City hosted 25 250 Motocross rounds from 1988-2012 and High Point continues to host 250 Motocross races, as 2024 will be their 41st. Philadelphia will be the 43rd different city to host a 250SX Class race and Lincoln Financial Field will be the 58th different 250SX Class venue.

Manufacturer Stadium Wins in Pennsylvania (Last Win)

  • Yamaha: 5 (1983)

Top Stadium Winners in Pennsylvania

  • 1) Broc Glover: 2 (1980 & 1983)
  • 2) Mike Bell: 1 (1980)
  • 2) Pierre Karsmakers: 1 (1973)
  • 2) Bob Hannah: 1 (1978)

450SX Class: First Time Winners in Philadelphia

  • None

Past Pennsylvania Stadium Winners

  • 1973: Pierre Karsmakers, Yamaha (JFK Stadium 500 Motocross)
  • 1978: Bob Hannah, Yamaha (Three Rivers 450SX)
  • 1980: Mike Bell, Yamaha (JFK Stadium 450SX)
  • 1980: Broc Glover, Yamaha (JFK Stadium 450SX)
  • 1983: Broc Glover, Yamaha (Three Rivers 450SX)

250SX Class Recap: Detroit

RJ Hampshire

RJ Hampshire earned the red plate after his fifth career 250SX Class win and third of the season. He is now tied for 47th on the all-time 250SX Class wins list with eight other riders, including Anderson and Roczen. Husqvarna now has 15 250SX Class wins, 1/3rd of them belonging to Hampshire. His 36th 250SX Class top five finish ties him with Mike Brown for sixth all-time. His 19th 250SX Class podium moves him one podium away from top-20 all-time.

Jo Shimoda

Jo Shimoda scored his fourth consecutive 250SX Class podium for the first time in his career with a runner-up in the 250SX Class East/West Showdown. He now has nine 250SX Class podiums and 27 AMA podiums in 88 starts (31%).

Tom Vialle

Tom Vialle used his sixth straight podium to take a commanding points lead in the Eastern Regional 250SX Class. Vialle has started all 17 of the 250SX Class races in his regionals since 2023, scoring two wins, six podiums, and seven top five finishes. Haiden Deegan trails the Frenchman by 13 points with two to go.

Jordon Smith

Notes: Jordon Smith (4th) Made his 66th 250SX Class start tying him for 14th all-time with Kelly Smith. His 38th top-five ties him with Shane McElrath for fourth all-time in 250SX Class racing. His 48th top-10 ties him with Jimmy Decotis for 14th all-time. Jalek Swoll (5th) Scores Triumph’s first ever top five finish, and Swoll’s fifth. Cameron McAdoo (22nd) and Cole Thompson (17th) Each made their 50th 250SX Class starts.